Friday wrap: Frugal fitness, buying a home, V-Day

Happy Friday everyone! Here are a few articles that might interest you.

Frugal fitness

I’ve been thinking about writing about this very topic, when hey presto! it appeared on Wise Bread. They have tons of good ideas to help get in shape. A few other suggestions:

  • Get a dog … or if you have one, actually walk it. Studies have found that dog-walkers (20 minutes a day) lose an average of 14 pounds in a year. And if you watch pet training shows or read about it, everyonen argues that your dog will be happier and better behaved, too. (If my dogs are calmer as a result … well … we’d better keep walking.)
  • Check your gym membership. Mr. Cheap and I joined a gym together. Then he quit going, but we were still paying $67 for the two of us. I finally canceled his membership, and it turned out I was the “auxiliary” member on our membership — so I kept paying the lower “additional member” payment even without him. Now I pay about $25 a month, which is worth it to me for the yoga classes and the opportunity to work out indoors in bad weather.
  • Check out fitness videos from the library. Our library has tons of them, filed in the nonfiction DVD section.

Buying a home

If you don’t yet own a home but are ready to take the leap, the timing is perfect in many ways. Prices are low, demand is low, supply is booming. Five Cent Nickel wrote about the tax and mortgage aspects of home buying in this post.

And it’s Valentine’s Day

Every year, I am surprised by Valentine’s Day being such a huge commercial event. I remember hating it when I was a teenager, dreading it when I was single, and now every year I think in befuddlement, “Am I supposed to DO something?”

We get our daughter some Valentine’s candy each year, and we usually give each other a card. This year I have a token gift I found at the thrift store, and I’m thinking about making some truffles for my sweeties. We never do flowers, but if we did, the eco-friendly roses from Costco would be an excellent choice.

If you’re looking for something last-minute, eco-friendly and easy, this post has a few ideas and links to some other resources, too.

Happy Valentine’s Day to you all, and especially any single folks who need an extra hug … or someone to get crabby with.

8 thoughts on “Friday wrap: Frugal fitness, buying a home, V-Day

  1. erin says:

    Last night my DH said, “are we exchanging anything for Valentine’s day?” and I said, “I don’t think so…” We are going out to dinner tonight using a gift certificate that has been languishing. Your links were cool though and I am definitely going to print out the frugal date ideas and put them in a box. Thanks for the idea!

  2. cheaplikeme says:

    And I just saw in my paper that “Love Actually” is on TV tonight, and “Sleepless in Seattle” is on tomorrow, for you cable-havers. Or rent whatever movie is romantic to you (my husband loathes Meg Ryan, so “Sleepless” s really not a good option for us).

  3. sarah says:

    Oh, I think you forgot running! Running is free and wonderful for your health. The shoes can get a bit expensive, but they don’t **have** to be- I buy my running shoes in the winter when they’re cheapest. I bought my trail running shoes on sale this winter for $45- I bought two pairs, because they fit perfectly.

  4. alottaerrata says:

    As great as getting a dog is for exercise, it’s not exactly a frugal choice- veterinary care can be pretty expensive. I suppose the most frugal way to walk a dog would be to walk someone else’s – or you could even start a dog walking ‘business’ on the side and make a little extra money.

  5. Lori says:

    We’re headed to the Aurora Cinema Grill for $2.50 movies together as a family today. I’m with you on the Valentine’s Day commercial-ness of it all. I gave my Senor Frugal a bag of our favorite coffee-he gave me a hug, which is just what I needed.

  6. cheaplikeme says:

    @Sarah – WiseBread has walking/running on their wrap-up, so I didn’t add it here — but you’re right, it requires very little special equipment.

    @alotta – Well, but on the day of love, a lot of people want a dog for other than frugal reasons, so exercise is a bonus. You would be pretty silly to get one *only* for exercise — and in fact, that study focused on people who did walk borrowed dogs!

  7. Martin says:

    I agree with alottaerrata about the dog, not a frugal choice. Before our last move, my daughters and I walked the dogs several days a week at the SPCA. It was a good workout and it was a great help to those managing the shelter.

  8. Wendy Gabriel says:

    Thanks again for some great frugal tips!

    We walk for exercise. Six days a weeks we pack up the double-wide stroller for our two little girls and head to our park (which has a walking path around it) or to our “bubble” (an indoor track and field within our local community center). And most day’s after we walk for 30-45 minutes we all play. Execise, family time and fun all wrapped up in one!

Comments are closed.