I wish my city had a Home Planning Workshop!

This article in the New York Times highlights one of the reasons why New York City is so special … and why it is in danger of losing still more of its unique flavor. Apparently, the city sponsors an organization called the Home Planning Workshop, where people can learn how to do it themselves. It almost lost its funding, meaning its operator, the 85-year-old Ms. Taube mentioned below, would lose her job, and the city would lose this resource. Fortunately, funding and the workshop were saved.

Here’s a quick description of the Home Planning Workshop:

Ms. Taube loved going to the workshop, where she’s taught generations of women and men from the neighborhood, free of charge, how to sew, knit, crochet, upholster and generally make do. If a chair broke, Ms. Taube or someone working for her could show its owner how to fix it. If a lamp needed rewiring, that could be done at the Home Planning Workshop, too.

Wouldn’t you think something like this is more relevant than ever right now, with younger generations wanting to learn to make do, and many of us lacking some of those skills?

Does your city have a resource like this?

4 thoughts on “I wish my city had a Home Planning Workshop!

  1. badhuman says:

    I’ve never heard of something like that in any city that I live in although I think it’s a great idea.

  2. Carol says:

    What a great resource to a community. Our community, which is fairly rural, has nothing like this either. I have always been interested in learning the “old fashioned” skills. I often wonder what will happen in the long term if none of these skills are passed on. Not only do home preservation and basic homemaking skills help to reduce packaging and waste, but it reduces dependence on large corporations to provide for our basic needs. The more I am able to take care of my own family, the less likely that in the case of emergency, I will be a burden to others.

    I remember when I first taught myself to can. My mother had no idea how, because her mother never taught her and my grandmother thought I was out of my mind to go to the extra work. The result? Much better tasting fruit (because it wasn’t processed green) and less trash in my can. I love the process as well as the product and have a skill that is mine forever and I can share it with others.

    “Countryside and Small Stock Journall” magazine is a great source of self-sufficiency information.

  3. Patricia says:

    The Home Planning Workshop sounds like a truly wonderful resource. If something like this were available where I live I would certainly take advantage of it. Not only would it help to save money in this financially challenged time, but it would prevent a lot of waste. Also, it would let us use our creative muscles. Perhaps with a little investigation we could find something comparable, it’s worth a try!

Comments are closed.