My new favorite dish soap

mmm, soap.

mmm, soap.

My birthday is in September, and this year, a few weeks after the event, my dear cousins sent me a box of fantastic gifts: a set of small Williams-Sonoma dish towels (how did they know the towels I received as wedding gifts 13 years ago are getting a bit extremely shoddy?), along with big refill-sized bottles of Williams-Sonoma’s dish soap, hand soap and lotion in “Winter Forest” scent.

The scent is a very strong piney smell with a bit of mint and cedar, from essential oils. It smells lovely for the fall and winter. Mr. Cheap loves it.

The soaps are biodegradable and packaged in recycled plastic bottles.

But I have saved the best for last: With this soap, our dish rags no longer get that nasty, mildewy, disgusting smell that makes Mr. Cheap and me fight over whether to use a dish rag (stinky in a matter of hours with our old dish soap) or a sponge (not PC, but at least I can throw it in the dishwasher, and it dries out and doesn’t smell).

I normally would say I wouldn’t ever spring for a dish soap that costs this much. But now I’m starting to wonder.

Apparently, ours is not to wonder why … the dish rag smells disgusting. Ours is just to wash and dry — with this yummy new soap.

Now I can’t wait until my bathroom hand soap runs out so I can fill up that container, too.

4 thoughts on “My new favorite dish soap

  1. Cheap Like Me says:

    @Brian – Yes, of course, we wash our dishrags after use! We typically change them daily, but with other biodegradable soaps, they still tend to get smelly.

    A synthetic sponge is made from plastic, and we are striving to reduce our plastic usage and waste where we can. Plastic products rely upon petroleum to be made, and then end up sitting in landfills for years/decades/centuries … whereas a cotton dishrag is biodegradable.

Comments are closed.