Quick tip: Cleaner compost bin

OK, you are all virtuous and you compost your waste. Bravo! But if you’re like me, you just might be a little bit of a slacker when it comes to thoroughly washing out the bin that sits on your counter or under your sink collecting scraps.

Then one day, when you open that bin, a giant furry mold-creature reaches out and grabs you by the nose.

Ewww!!!

Leah Ingram at the Lean Green Family blog had the brilliant idea of putting a (recycled) paper towel or coffee filter into the bottom of the inside bin. Then, she wrote, when she dumps it out, all the goo goes along — so it’s rinse and you’re on your way again.

I tried her method and it works beautifully. But I am too cheap to use a perfectly good paper towel or coffee filter. Mr. Cheap suggested a little square of newspaper, and that works fantastically well. I rip off a rectangle of newspaper, fold it approximately the right size and drop it into the bottom.

“Now …” (the announcer would say if this were a compost-horror-movie commercial) “… mold and slime have NOWHERE TO HIDE!”

At least not in my kitchen.

5 thoughts on “Quick tip: Cleaner compost bin

  1. L'an says:

    Brilliant! I’ll have to give this a try because, uh, yeah, I’m a bit familiar with that stinky mold creature… 🙂

  2. jmisgro says:

    I have been using the parchment paper that I bake bread on. It can only be used 2 or 3 times, then I tear it and use it my compost bowl. Great minds think alike, eh!

  3. Leah Ingram says:

    Thanks for including my tip about the coffee filter. I like your idea better with a piece of newspaper. Gosh knows I’ve got plenty of newspaper around my house. Thanks again.

    Leah

Comments are closed.