Tour our garden

Summer is coming to an end, although the gardening season is just reaching its prime in Colorado. If we are lucky, we’ll have a late frost, and the garden can carry on most of the way through October.

I’ve written so much about our garden here that I thought it might be fun to have a shot of the whole thing. You can glance at the photo here, and if you click on “all sizes” (above the photo), you should be able to see a larger size and more easily read the captions explaining what’s what.

In trying to capture an image, I realized just how scattered our garden is. These shots and notes don’t even touch on the two “extra” strawberry plants tucked into a back bed, the pumpkin and cantaloupe in the front yard, and the barrels out front with two more Roma plants. They don’t show the squash and berries at one side of our yard, or the Roma snuggled up next to the butterfly bush. But you’ll get the general idea.

If you’ve presented a garden tour on your own blog or photostream, add a link below — we’ll have our own garden tour. You bring the lemonade, I’ll bring the floppy hats.

5 thoughts on “Tour our garden

  1. erin says:

    We are at the end of the blueberries and strawberries. The salad is all very, um, bitter. We sowed some more plus spinach and are on our second crop. We have some random pumpkin and squash plants that don’t appear to be doing much of anything…might need to look at pollinating? The potato tops are dying which means we harvest at some point. Carrots are doing well. Not sure what happened to all the radishes. Will try to post a photo…

  2. cheaplikeme says:

    @erin – We had hot (90s) and dry (.22 inches of rain in the entire month of July, and it happened before the 4th) weather in July, so that our squash/pumpkin didn’t set fruit. Then for the last week or 10 days, we had monsoon conditions — I believe we’ve had 4 to 6 inches of rain in the last 10 days. I went to check on our squash and pumpkins and found bees sleeping or drowned in most of the blossoms. So I was out pollinating in the rain this weekend … fingers crossed now!

  3. The Jersey Homesteader says:

    I am glad I came across your blog. My friend, which has a email newsletter called Kindred Spirits on yahoo shared your link. I was delighted to read about your garden. I garden as if I had to depend on what I grow. I have a few pictures on my blog of my main garden and of the my potato crop this year, don’t forget the corn. Out here in New Jersey we have started getting our Fall crop in. Before you know it the apples will be ready for picking. Happy gardening.

Comments are closed.