Friday Wrap-Up: Organic Milk Grades and Chickens

Today I came across this very interesting ranking of organic milk brands (via Mother Earth News’ newsletter).

I was very pleased to see that my favorite brand (Organic Valley) got a 4-cow rating (you can click on the brands to get a detailed overview of each company). I like the milk, and the company’s co-op structure offers good support for farmers. Visit Organic Valley’s site for coupons if you’d like to try it. When I couldn’t get the coupons to print, I contacted the company and they mailed me coupons, so keep that in mind if it doesn’t work for you. Organic Valley costs a bit more, but it’s worth it to me to support the farmers. (And at our store, I can find a gallon on “manager’s special” relatively often — sometimes for $2.69 for the gallon.)

Whole Foods was the only major retailer to participate, and earned 4 cows for its 365 brand milk. Kroger earned 2 cows based on “industry information.” Most other private labels earned 1 cow because they refuse to disclose any information. Not a good sign. Mr. Cheap is gloating, because he thinks Horizon milk tastes like bleach.

Farmers All Natural Creamery, which sells its extremely delicious milk at Vitamin Cottage stores in Colorado, also earned 4 stars. Whoo hoo! Dairy goodness!

Speaking of humanely raised animals, this week in its chicken series Green Daily posted a very informative update about chicken behavior. It has given me more food for thought as I plot our chicken plot. (Bear with me … we move slowly around here. Planning now means we might have chickens in a year or two.)

Happy Friday!

3 thoughts on “Friday Wrap-Up: Organic Milk Grades and Chickens

  1. jessimonster says:

    This is good info! I’ve never tried that milk from Vitamin Cottage but I should. Right now I buy Kroger organic milk. Maybe I will change brands.

  2. organicneedle says:

    It was disappointing to see Trader Joe’s, Nature’s Promise, and even Stonyfield so low on the list since those are the most convenient. I also didn’t realize there were so many relatively local organic dairies. Thanks for the info.

  3. cheaplikeme says:

    @organicneedle – both true.

    Check out Organic Valley for local if it’s in your neck of the woods. For a business project, I learned that here in Denver, Organic Valley milk comes from farmers in northeastern Colorado, and it is processed/bottled in Denver or Colorado Springs — so it remains within a 150- to 200-mile radius of where it is “raised.” The company might be able to give you similar specifics for your area.

Comments are closed.