New plans for this blog

lamborghiniSpring is the season of new beginnings, and I’ve been thinking a lot about where this blog should go.

After some soul-searching, I’ve realized that time IS money, and the more time I spend thinking about being green and saving money, the less I’m investing in myself and my family. It’s a heck of a lot of trouble. And for what?

Last week’s commenter, BoBo, pointed out that people don’t really cause global warming. You know, I think he’s right.

Our actions don’t matter. Who cares if a few kids eat meat from sick cows? All this hoo-ha about superbugs that can’t be healed with antibiotics … really? People are resilient. Our pets and children and elderly people can buck up, get tough and fight off those super-germs and pesticide residues — and if so-called global warming causes the ocean to lap at my Colorado doorstep, then I’ve got beachfront property!

And when I watched Two Weeks’ Notice this weekend, I realized that what George Wade (Hugh Grant) says in the movie is true: Nobody loves a saint.

Let’s give up. Ah, that feels good!

Now, who wants to mow my lawn with my new riding mower and then join me for some factory-farmed takeout in styrofoam containers? I’m driving. Being cheap has resulted in a nice little nest egg, and I spent it yesterday on a new Lamborghini Murcielago, specifically selected because it’s the least fuel-efficient car out there. Sweet!

Oh … April Fool’s! (And happy birthday, Grandma.)

In actuality, I have signed on for April to Crunchy Chicken’s Buy Nothing Challenge. If you’re in, sign up at her site and let us know here, too!

But if I weren’t signed up there, I’d want this solar cell phone charger.

4 thoughts on “New plans for this blog

  1. Melinda says:

    That was hilarious! I hummed and hawed about Deanna’s new challenge. We stopped buying stuff 6 months ago, except for things we really need. But, we’re moving this month. I can’t see how to get around not buying ANY packing supplies, cleaning materials, etc etc. Do you have any good cheap suggestions for moving??

  2. cheaplikeme says:

    Do you have Freecycle in your area? I often see moving boxes listed in our area. Or of course the free-liquor-box option.

    You’ll probably still wind up buying something, but maybe you can pass them on … either give them away or sell them as a lot if you wind up with nice, clean boxes. We have used-box stores in our area, too, where we’ve gotten great boxes that were sold by stores after unpacking the contents.

    As for cleaning materials, baking soda goes far – cheap and green!

Comments are closed.