Weekly wrap-up: Kiplinger’s goes green and bike your little heart out

This week, Get Rich Slowly addressed the latest issue of Kiplinger’s, which talks green: http://www.getrichslowly.org/blog/2007/09/17/the-green-issue-kiplingers-tackles-the-environment/

 

And two blogs I read both address commuting by bike today:

http://noimpactman.typepad.com/blog/2007/09/what-makes-biki.html

http://simplereduce.wordpress.com/2007/09/20/biking-to-work/

 

We’ve thought about bike commuting, but between needing new equipment and our not-so-bike friendly roads, it hasn’t happened yet. Do you bike? How do you like it?

4 thoughts on “Weekly wrap-up: Kiplinger’s goes green and bike your little heart out

  1. O says:

    I bike to work every day; it’s only a couple miles. It felt long the first few days I did it, but afterwards it got really easy. It’s not bad, except when it’s really windy or when it pours. I’ve survived so far, though.

  2. Brigid says:

    I bought a bike a few years ago, rode it for a little while, then stopped. The hard part about starting again is getting it together—cleaning up the bike, finding a helmet and bike lock, etc. I bought a new helmet last week so I think I’m good to go.

    I live in a small city (4 square miles) so I can bike to work, the grocery store, whatever. However, I grew up in Indiana (flat!) and now I live in Massachusetts (hilly!) so my biggest problem is that I learned to ride on a one-speed bike and now I have 21 speeds that I don’t know how to use at all. It’s very confusing. So that’s my challenge for September: learn how to use the gears.

  3. patti says:

    I have to drive to work, it’s 23 miles away…but as soon as I get home, the car gets parked and we either walk, ride bikes, or skate where we need to go. I LOVE my bike. When I ride, I feel like I’m flying, especially late at night when there are hardly any cars out. I feel free when I bike. I love it. When the roads aren’t bike friendly, I ride on the sidewalk or find a different route.

Comments are closed.