Weekly Wrap-Up: DIY Summer Camp and a Honda Diesel

First, I’ll note that when I started typing the title of this post, I wrote “Weekly Serap …” – completely involuntarily. Clearly, my subconscious was typing “serape” to tell me I ought to go to Mexico! Who’s in?

But since I am still here, this post talks about a neighborhood that does their own summer camp – keeping kids in the neighborhood and saving families thousands of dollars. I would LOVE to do this.

In fact, I’ve proposed developing a similar homeschool arrangement.where five families each take all the kids one day per week. Parents could teach to their strengths and still work full time on a flex schedule that would let them have one day at home with the kids. No tuition, personal attention, lots of love for the kids — and all the field trips they could handle. It’s just that no one I know seems as enthusiastic about it as I am.

Anyway, read about the summer camp here:
http://www.thesimpledollar.com/2007/08/15/summer-camp-in-the-neighborhood-how-to-get-a-collective-of-parents-together-to-save-a-ton-of-money-on-daycare-during-the-summer/

And start your homebrew biodiesel engines … at least by 2010, when Honda plans to launch a U.S. diesel Accord that gets 63 mpg on the highway. http://www.fivecentnickel.com/2007/08/14/honda-accord-diesel-coming-soon/

